::Departments : Super Specialities : Plastic Surgery
Department of Plastic Surgery
The department was started in 1963 by Prof.C.R Sundarrajan.  Initially it functioned from ward 17 of the old block and in 1980 moved to its present premises in ward 48 , fourth floor of the specialties block.   It started with 10 beds and now we officially have 62 beds. M.Ch was started in 1966 with two postgraduates and a two year course; now it is a three year course with three postgraduates each year.
Initial alumini of the department include Prof. U.S.Nayak who is still the ultimate word in anything connected with Plastic Surgery, Prof. Mathangi Ramakrishnan of Burns therapy fame, Prof. Sam C.Bose who organized the department in Madurai Medical college, Prof. Ramakrishnan Nair who organized the plastic surgery unit in Trivandrum Medical college and retired as Director of Medical Education in   the Sate of Kerala, Prof. Sekhar of Bangalore, Prof. Sadasiva Murthy of Bangalore Medical college and Prof. Nirmala Subramanian who pioneered microsurgery in Tamilnadu.  The list of alumini will read as who’s who of Plastic surgery in whole of South India.
Most of  the plastic surgeons of South India are an alumini of this department.  Prof.C.R.Sundararajan had the farsightedness to train people and to encourage them to take over management in various cities of South India.

Designed & Developed by

This site can be best viewed in 1024x768 screen resolution.